Jill of All Trades, Master of Nothing

Sometimes I wish I was REALLY good at something, but it seems I have talent in many areas, but find it difficult to stand out or be exceptional.

I’m a pretty good cook. I even enjoy it, but my kitchen looks like a hot mess when I am finished and I have been known to go through some nasty experimental streaks where meal disasters overshadow the meal successes.

I really want to be a great photographer, but just a quick glimpse of the awesome photos on others blogs makes me shrink back to the beginners class and wonder if I will ever see improvement in my skills.

The same holds true for gardening.  I love the idea of growing things.  I especially enjoy planting them, but after that something goes awry and well, where there are supposed to be vegetables and lush flowers….I got nothing.

I really want to be organized, but I am just not consistent enough in my efforts.  I find much more pleasure in the planning of the organization than carrying it out.

Before I was a mom, I had visions of being that cool mom that always had yummy (and healthy) freshly made snacks and time to do crafts and play sports with my kids.  Now I just wish I could get the dishwasher loaded without my one-year-old taking all the dishes out or grabbing a sharp knife.   Forget the crafts—too much mess.  Outside time?  Three kids that need socks, shoes, coats, hats, mittens—that’s a lot of work!

All that to say, there is still something inside of me that drives me to do my best even when my best is so far from perfect that I almost have to laugh at myself.  Am I really good at something?  Yeah, I am really good at being real.  And, as long as I don’t allow myself the temptation of comparison with others, my best really is good enough.

A fitting verse from Corinthians speaks to the foolishness of living is this “I’m not as good as her” world or even that place we can let ourselves go where we focus on our insufficiency.

“When they measure themselves with themselves and compare themselves with one another, they are without understanding and behave unwisely (2 Corinthians 10:12).

I have been learning a lot lately about focusing more on just being in the presence of God rather than all the responsibilities of life.  I am still processing, but will write more at a later time.

Leave a Reply

