Never one to over-react….

By the time I have cooked supper, cleaned the kitchen, picked up the kid clutter from around the house, and given the kids baths, I am physically exhausted. And many times emotionally and mentally exhausted as well. Why are my kids surprised by the fact that they need to put their pajamas on each evening? Anyway, when I am tired my filters go by the wayside. Nice mommy is ready for a break and freak out mommy is on the scene. That really isn’t a good excuse for a lack of a loving, patient attitude however, as I was reminded the other evening when I came upstairs to my room where my hubby and kids were getting ready to read bedtime stories.

DSC_0103web

I noticed an entire pad of Post-It Notes, in my mind, wasted by being stuck all over my bedside table. I freaked out for a few seconds. I know, it’s just Post-It Notes, but nonetheless I was caught off guard and started to get mad about it. Luckily my husband stopped me because I hadn’t noticed the hurt look on Lucy’s (the culprit) face. She had “decorated” my table as an act of love and I had missed it because of my lack of patience and sense of exhaustion.

Of course this tweak in perspective makes all the difference.  Now, this mess became a special memory that I even wanted to capture in a picture—dusty end table and all.

Galatians 5:22-23 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.

Leave a Reply

